Bar Bulletin

July, 2004


J. Michael McWilliams

J. Michael McWilliams, President of McWilliams Dispute Resolution and Past President of the American Bar Association and the Maryland State Bar Association, was recently named President-Elect of the College of Commercial Arbitrators. He also serves as First Vice President of the International Academy of Mediators.

Whiteford, Taylor and Preston L.L.P. attorney Gardner Duvall will be the President of the Maryland Defense Counsel for 2004-2005. The Defense Counsel is an organization of civil defense attorneys that promotes defense interests, the efficiency of the legal system and fair and equal treatment under the law.

Charles R. "Rick" Claxton

Effective this month, Richard J. Peltz has been awarded tenure at the William H. Bowen Law School at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Charles R. “Rick” Claxton has been promoted to principal at the Bethesda law firm of Garson & Associates, LLC. The firm will now be known as Garson Claxton LLC.

Lisa Ellen Ball has joined the Baltimore law firm of John H. Denick & Associates, P.A., as an associate.

Stephen J. Cullen has been selected as a recipient of the 2004 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Awards.

Timothy E. Clarke has been presented with the 2004 Marriott Spirit to Serve Community Award, which recognizes those who perform volunteer activities in the community.

James D. Skeen has formed the new firm Skeen & Kauffman LLP at 800 N. Charles Street, Suite 400 Baltimore, Maryland 21201; (410) 625-2272.

Catherine M. Brennan has joined Hudson Cook LLP’s Linthicum office as an associate. Hudson Cook focuses its practice on consumer financial services.


Catherine M. Brennan


Mark T. McDermott

Mark T. McDermott has been reappointed as the legislative chairman for the American Academy of Adoption Attorneys. The Academy is a national organization of over 300 attorneys who have distinguished themselves in the field of adoption law. McDermott is a past president of the Academy.

Sanford V. Teplitzky

Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC, announces that Timothy D.A. Chriss, David H. Fishman, Robert C. Kellner and Abba David Poliakoff have been selected for the 2004 edition of Chambers USA: A Guide to America’s Leading Business Lawyers, an annual publication based on in-depth interviews with leading private practice attorneys and key inside counsel in the primary areas of commercial law. Ober Kaler announces that Sanford V. Teplitzky, Leonard C. Homer, Kenneth B. Abel and MSBA Past President Pamela J. White have also been listed in the Chambers guide, and Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, announce that Ronald

P. Fish, Morton P. Fisher, Jr.
, and Raymond G. Truitt were named to the list.

Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., has named Timothy E. Meredith to the Fifth Appellate Circuit Seat for the Court of Special Appeals. Meredith, an attorney in private practice, will serve until the 2006 election cycle, when he will stand for election to a full ten-year term.

Michele A. Gallagher has been promoted to partner at the law firm of Anderson Kill & Olick, LLP.

Kathleen J. Masterton announces the opening of the Law Offices of Kathleen J, Masterton, P.C., 1400 Front Avenue, Suite 202, Lutherville, Maryland, (410) 339-1700.

The Towson office of the law firm of Miles & Stockbridge P.C. has signed a 10-year lease for approximately 17,000 square feet of office space at Towson Commons.



Publications : Bar Bulletin: July, 2004

Back to top