Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : July 2006

Previous | Next


Baltimore SmartCEO magazine has recognized Maryland Stadium Authority Executive Director and MSBA President-Elect Alison L. Asti as one of Baltimore's 2006 Legal Elite attorneys, a list of Maryland's top lawyers as recognized by their peers, CEOs, business owners and industry experts.

Venable LLP has been recognized by the Legal Aid Bureau and the Equal Justice Counsel with the annual "Pacesetter Award" for its services provided to Maryland's impoverished; while Michael Schatzow, a Partner in the firm, was awarded the John Adams Award from the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland for his extraordinary representation of needy Marylanders.

Due to his superior work ethic and service, real estate attorney Lawrence A. Shulman has been awarded the 4th Annual Distinguished Real Estate Practitioner Award by the Real Property Planning and Zoning Section of the Maryland State Bar Association.

Theodore D. Segal, a Partner in the Washington, D.C. office of DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP, has been named to the 2006 Legal Times Leading Dealmakers list due to his prominence in the corporate and securities law area.

The law firm Paley Rothman has announced that several of its lawyers have been recognized for prominent awards. Linda D. Schwartz was elected to the American College of Real Estate Planning for her excellence in real estate law and was named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women for 2006 by The Daily Record with colleague Hope B. Eastman; the Bar Association of Montgomery County awarded Kathleen M. Dumais the 17th Annual Professionalism Award and Patricia M. Weaver the Committee Chair of the Year Award, while James R. Hammerschmidt was elected to a two-year term on the Association's Executive Committee; and Daniel P. Hodin was elected to the Board of Directors of the Jewish Council for the Aging and Har Shalom Synagogue.

Raymond Sherbill, a Partner at Ridberg, Sherbill & Aronson in Bethesda, MD, has been presented with the 2005 Paul Bernick New Leadership Award at the American ORT Annual Meeting in New York for his leadership position in ORT activities.

The University of Maryland School of Social Work has appointed Howard Sollins, a health law attorney for Ober Kaler, to their board of advisors, due to his experience and knowledge in health care providers.

Paul Kim, a member of Ober Kaler's Health Law practice, has pulled double duty by being elected president of the Asian Pacific American Bar Association of Maryland, as well as joining the Steering Committee for the District of Columbia Bar Health Law Section.

Gary H. Leibowitz, an Associate in Saul Ewing's Bankruptcy and Restructuring Department, has been named Baltimore Assistant Chair of the Maryland Bankruptcy Bar Association.

The American Academy of Adoption Attorneys has given the 2005-2006 President's Award to attorney John Greene of Cohen & Greene, P.A., due to his outstanding contribution to the Academy.

Arnold B. Sherman, a member of the firm's Business and Commercial Transactions group, has been promoted from Of Counsel to Principal at Paley Rothman.

Severn, O'Connor & Kresslein, P.A., has added Noel S. Manalo to their Frederick law firm as an associate attorney.

Maura L. Barnes and Katherine J. Carver have joined Bowie & Jensen, LLC as associates in the litigation department and transactional department, respectively.

Marks, O'Neill, O'Brien & Courtney, P.C., has added Dianna M. Morris to their Towson office.

The annual publication Chambers USA: America's Leading Business Lawyers has acknowledged the following Maryland attorneys in their 2006 edition:

  • sOber Kaler: Sanford Teplitzky, Jeff Miles, Howard Sollins and Pamela White
  • sSaul Ewing LLP: Harriet E. Cooperman, Gary B. Eidelman and Charles O. Monk, II
  • sMcGuireWoods LLP: Douglas Topolski and Patrick M. Shelley
  • sHolder Law Group: Katrina C. Kamantauskas-Holder

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP has brought in Martha L. Perkins, a lawyer of 16 years, as a Partner in their Construction and Surety Law group.

Kenneth J. Coughlan has been named an associate at The Law Offices of Anne Hoke, Esq., LLC, with his concentration being in Workers' Compensation, Personal Injury, Criminal Defense and Medical Malpractice.

Elizabeth J. Frey, an attorney from Jack H. Olender & Associates, was installed as President of the Maryland Trail Lawyers.

The Greater Baltimore Committee, a regional organization devoted to strengthening the city's business climate, has named Albert J. Mezzanotte, Jr., a managing partner and business litigator with Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP, to their Board of Directors.

Michael Smith and Ian Berger have joined Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC, as members of the firm's Employment Law Practice Group.

Ober Kaler has brought in David R. Forrer to their Baltimore office as an associate in their Estate's & Trusts practice.

The Law Office of Catherine M. Reese, PLC, has moved to 10560 Main Street, Suite 310, Fairfax, Virginia, 22030; (703) 279-5140.

Several legal practice groups of DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP have been recognized by Chambers USA: America's Leading Lawyers for Business as leaders in Maryland, including their Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation section, Corporate/M&A, Employment section, General Commercial Litigation group and their Real Estate practice.

So what have you done lately? Send your latest news to Patrick Tandy, c/o Bar Bulletin, 520 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201, or, and be the talk of the town!

Previous previous

next Next

Publications : Bar Bulletin: July 2006

Back to top