Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : June 2006

Previous | Next


E. Scott Johnson, a renowned arts leader and lawyer in Baltimore, has been selected for the 2006 Nina Wood Collier Arts Champion Award by the Young Audiences of Maryland due to his extensive contributions in the education of the arts.

Mark T. McDermott

Mark T. McDermott

The American Academy of Adoption Attorneys has appointed Mark T. McDermott as their legislative chairman for 2006. McDermott is a past president of the organization.

Ferrier R. Stillman, a partner at Tydings & Rosenberg LLP who has substantial experience in family law and health care law, has been named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women of 2006.

The Bar Association of Montgomery County has installed John C. Monahan and Mary Ellen Flynn as President and Vice-President, respectively, for the 2006-07 fiscal year.

Kim M. Keenan, a senior trial lawyer of 15 years for Jack H. Olender & Associates, was honored by Girls Inc. for her leadership and inspirational career at the fourth annual Girls Inc. Celebration Luncheon. Girls Inc. is a non-profit organization that inspires all girls to be strong, smart and bold and acknowledges women who, by their daily example, are giving girls the inspiration to achieve their highest goals.

The Maryland Chapter of the Association for Corporate Growth (ACG) has named Charles J. Morton, Jr., as their president for a two-year term. Morton was recently recognized by the Baltimore Business Journal as a top lawyer in Baltimore for advising entrepreneurial firms.

Dale P. Kelberman, a Principal in litigation practice at Miles & Stockbridge P.C., and Joel Dewey, a Partner in DLA Piper's litigation department, have been elected Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers – one of the premier legal associations in America.

The National Association of College and University Attorneys have awarded the inaugural First Decade Award to Wesley D. Blakeslee, an Associate General Counsel of Johns Hopkins University. The award is presented to a member of the NACUA who, in ten or fewer years, has made a significant contribution to the practice of higher education law.

Attorney Robert E. Polack was promoted to senior vice president at Butler Capital Corporation, a national commercial lender, after serving as general counsel since 1999.

ARC of Baltimore has presented Nichole M. Hatcher, an Associate for Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, with the Thomas Ferciot Memorial Award due to her pro bono work for an elderly disabled individual.

Bonnie Green has been promoted from Assistant General Counsel for Sodexho Inc., to Vice President of Compliance.

Paley Rothamn announced that Steven A. Widdes, co-chair of Estate Planning section, Hope B. Eastman, chair of Employment Law, and Glenn M. Cooper, manager and senior member of the firm's Litigation department, were named to the Best Lawyers in America 2007 edition.

William O'Niell

William O'Niell

Crowell & Moring LLP has added William O'Niell, a Partner with the firm, to its Insurance/Reinsurance Group with the desire to increase depth in the reinsurance arbitration and litigation field.

Harriet E. Cooperman, a Labor and Employment attorney in Saul Ewing's Baltimore Office, has been recognized by The International Who's Who of Business Lawyers for her legal excellence.

Strickler, Sachitano & Hatfield, P.A., have promoted Jennifer A. Forquer to Partner, and added Jill B. Savedoff as an Associate in Family Law Litigation.

Karen J. Kruger, a Senior Assistant County Attorney for Harford County, has earned her LL.M. degree in Law and Government from the Washington College of Law at American University.

George F. Ritchie has become the new Partner in the Litigation Department at Saul Ewing LLP, while Herbert D. Frerichs Jr. was named Vice Chair of the firm's Business Department.

McGuireWoods LLP has added Adam Harrison Garner to their Baltimore office as an Associate in their Labor and Employment Department. Garner focuses his practice on representing management in employment and traditional labor matters.

Leslie Stellman, the Chair of Education Law for Hodes, Ulman, Pessin & Katz, P.A., has co-authored the 7th edition of "Teachers and the Law." A representative for Maryland's county school boards, Stellman recently argued on behalf of the National School Boards Association before the Supreme Court in a pro bono case.

MSBA member Gary Goldberger has been named an executive producer of two movies, "The Trimester" and "The Obsession," set to air on Lifetime Television in July, 2006. Goldberger works for Craig Anderson Productions in Culver City, CA.

Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A. have made Jeremy W. Schulman, William F. Askinazi and Matthew M. Moore shareholders of the firm, while adding attorneys Kristen Munger, Leslie E. Gallagher and Chanoch D. Kanovsky to the Commercial Litigation Department; Michael T. Ebaugh to their Corporate Division; Matthew D. Alegi and Joann J. Wang to their Real Estate Transactions section; and Anne Marie Vassallo to the Land Use and Zoning Department.

DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP has been honored with two prestigious awards for the second straight year by the Who's Who Legal 2006 Awards. The firm has repeated as the Franchise Law Firm of the Year and the Real Estate Law Firm of the year.

The Baltimore County Bar Association has awarded its 2006 Pro Bono Award to Bowie & Jensen, LLC, due to their relentless commitment to pro bono service.

Ober Kaler announced the creation of the Leonard C. Homer/Ober Kaler Law and Health Care Fund at UMD School of Law. The fund, named after the firm's health law founder, provides financial backing for a variety of health law programs offered by the University.

So what have you done lately? Send your latest news to Patrick Tandy, c/o Bar Bulletin, 520 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201, or, and be the talk of the town!

Previous previous

next Next

Publications : Bar Bulletin: June 2006

Back to top