Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : November 2006


Et Alia

J. Michael McWilliams, past president of MSBA and the American Bar Association, has been elected president of the International Academy of Mediators for a one-year term. McWilliams is a well-versed mediator with three decades of practice in a variety of legal areas.

Camilla O. McRory has been recognized in the field of Elder Law in the 2007 edition of the Woodward/White, Inc. Best Lawyers in America.

The Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service (MVLS) has presented both Maria Ellena Chavez-Ruark, a senior associate at DLA Piper, and Brian Zemil, a partner at Venable LLP, with its 2006 Educator of the Year award due to their extensive volunteer work within MVLS. Other lawyers awarded include James Sauer for the Pioneer Award; Erika F. Daneman Slater, Robert N. Grossbart, Constance M. Hare and Darren M. Margolis for the Ten Year Volunteer Award; and James W. Almand, Michael J. Baxter, Neal D. Borden, Jonathan D. Eisner, Sally B. Gold and Anthony J. Rosso for the Inner Circle Award.

Karen L. Cook

Karen L. Cook

The Experiential Environmental Education, Inc., which supports environmental stewardship through experiential education, has elected Irma J. Robins, a University Counsel at the University of Maryland Baltimore, to its Board of Directors.

Karen L. Cook, a member of MSBA’s Board of Governors and past president of the Anne Arundel County Bar Association, has been named Coordinator of Legal Studies at Anne Arundel Community College, which includes management of the college’s ABA-approved Paralegal Program. 

H. Russell Frisby, Jr., a partner at Fleischman & Walsh, LLP, has been selected to serve as Vice Chair of the ABA Section on Administrative and Regulatory law. Frisby concentrates his practice in Telecommunications and Energy law.

Youshea A. Berry

Youshea A. Berry

Youshea A. Berry, the principal attorney of the Law Office of Youshea A. Berry in Washington D.C., has been named as a Diversity Fellow in the ABA’s General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division. Berry has held other ABA leadership positions, and was named a Young Lawyer Scholar by ABA’s Young Lawyer Division.

Several lawyers from Paley Rothman, a 38-attorney firm based in the Washington D.C. metro area, have taken roles to aid the legal community. David P. Shapiro has been elected co-chair of the Business Law Section of the Bar Association of Montgomery County; Deborah A. Cohn has been named to the Section Council of MSBA’s Estate and Trust Law Section; Paula A. Calimafde recently served as a member of the faculty for the American Law Institute-American Bar Association’s course “Representing Professional and Closely Held Businesses”; and Glenn M. Cooper aided the Montgomery County judges assigned to the Business and Technology Case Management program by providing them an updated monograph of “Standards and Methods of Corporate Control – Maryland”.

The Defense Research Institute has honored James F. Rosner, a partner in Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP’s pro bono department, with its 2006 Community Service Award due to his commitment to improving the social and cultural well-being of the general public.

Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., has appointed Travis P. Nelson to the Maryland State Banking Board. Nelson is an associate at Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson, LLP.

Catherine Chen Hester, a member of the MSBA since 1995, has joined the National Service with Volunteer Maryland, an AmeriCorps program of the Governor’s Office, in which she will serve as the Volunteer Maryland Coordinator with FIRN, a movement that strives to link immigrants and refugees with key resources in hopes to increase their fluency in English and gain employment.

At the 22nd Annual Myers Society Dinner at the Embassy of Italy in Washington D.C., Millard S. Bennett was named Chairman of American University’s Washington College of Law’s John Sherman Myers Society, an organization that honors commitment and leadership to the law school.

Tim Chriss

Tim Chriss

The 2006 edition of Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business has recognized Tim Chriss, a Real Estate attorney for Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC.

The following have been recognized in the latest edition of Woodward/White, Inc.’s The Best Lawyers in America:

  • Henry Abrams, Harriet E. Cooperman, Joyce A. Kuhns, Charles O. Monk, II, William E. Scholtes, Jay A. Shulman and Irving E. Walker (Saul Ewing, LLP).
  • Deborah H. Devans, Robert M. Ercole, Allan J. Gibber, Price O. Gielen and Richard Rubin (Neuberger, Quinn, Gielen, Rubin & Gibber, P.A.).

Ten attorneys from Hodes, Ulman, Pessin & Katz, P.A., have been acknowledged in the Maryland Super Lawyers list, which identifies the top 5 percent of attorneys in each state. The attorneys are: Steven A. Allen, Barry Bach, John Carroll Broderick, Rochelle S. Eisenberg, Gerald M. Katz, Patricia M. Lambert, Randall M. Lutz, Charles F. Morgan, Leslie R. Stellman and David M. Tralins.

Zuckerman Spaeder LLP has added Paula Junghans to their Litigation Division, in which she will provide expertise in criminal and civil tax controversies and white-collar criminal issues.

Lawrence D. Coppel, chair of the Bankruptcy and Restructuring Section at Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC, has been named the Secretary of the Board of Directors at MVLS, while Christopher R. Rahl, senior counsel for Provident Bank, was elected as the president.

Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd., have a brought Anne B. Fox aboard their Employment & Labor and Litigation groups, where she will deal in matters that concern employment relationships in the workplace and represent corporations in a variety of manners.

The law firm Ethridge, Quinn, McAuliffe, Rowan & Hartinger has added Lynn Caudle Boynton in their Real Estate Section as a partner due to her extensive experience in commercial and real estate matters.

Brandy Scheydt

Brandy Scheydt

Brandy Scheydt has joined Hodes, Ulman, Pessin & Katz, P.A., as an associate in the Estate & Wealth Preservation Group, where she will provide clients with innovative estate planning and wealth management solutions.

Franklin M. Lee has joined Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, as a partner and will help enhance the firm’s ability to provide strategic legal counsel to its business clients.

Virginia A. Zrake has moved her practice to 1518 Savannah Road, Lewes, Delaware 19958. She can be reached at (302) 644-6770.

The Law Offices of Adam M. Spence, P.C., are now located at 409 Washington Avenue, Suite 1000, Towson, MD 21204, (410) 823-5003; however, their mailing address is now P.O. Box 20369, Baltimore, Maryland 21284.

Thompson, Loss & Judge, LLP, has relocated to Two Lafayette Centre, 1133 21st Street, NW, Suite 450, Washington D.C., 20036 and can be reached at (202) 778-4060.

So what have you done lately? Send your latest news to Patrick Tandy, c/o Bar Bulletin, 520 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201, or, and be the talk of the town!



Publications : Bar Bulletin: November 2006