Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : May 2008


Harry S. Johnson

Jerald B. Lurie and Rachel T. McGuckian, Co-Chairs of the MSBA Committee on Judicial Appointments, have been honored with the 2008 MSBA Distinguished Service Award.

Former MSBA President Harry S. Johnson participated in a panel discussion at An Evening of Law and Theater held at Centerstage on April 24. The event was presented by the University of Maryland School of Law and Centerstage.

Catherine Chen Hester was appointed a member of the Governorís Commission on Service and Volunteerism by Governor Martin OíMalley. Hester is currently the Director of Operations at FIRN, a private, nonprofit organization that serves the foreign-born in Maryland.

Two Saul Ewing LLP attorneys have recently been named to the Board of Directors for different Maryland organizations. Eric G. Orlinsky, a partner in the firm, will serve the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) for a four-year term. Gregory E. Rapisarda, an associate in the firmís Litigation Department, will serve a three-year term with the Maryland Center for Character Education (MCCE).

Randall M. Lutz

Paul M. Nussbaum and William F. Ryan, Jr., attorneys in the Baltimore office of Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, recently traveled to Los Angeles, California to speak on investing in distressed securities during troubled economic times at the Global Distressed Debt West Coast Investor Forum.

The Turnaround Management Associationís Chesapeake Chapter has appointed David S. Musgrave, a principal with Ober Kaler, as its president-elect. The organization educates its members on restructuring, economic forecasts, lending and bankruptcy. George W. Cox, Ph. D., an associate at Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., has been elected to the Frederick Innovative Technology Centerís Board of Directors.

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, partner Warren N. Weaver has been appointed the Maryland representative to the Diversity Committee of the Defense Research Institute, a national organization of more than 22,000 defense trial lawyers and corporate counsel.

Glenn M. Cooper, chair of Paley Rothmanís Litigation Section, was admitted as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

William F. Herrfeldt, Jr., joined McGuireWoods LLP as an associate in the firmís Energy and Utilities Department.

The law firm Sasscer, Clagett & Bucher has added Daniel V. Renart as an associate.

Gregory E. Rapisarda

Jennifer L. Kwiatkowski has joined The Law Offices of Julie Ellen Landau, where she will concentrate in matrimonial and family law.

Thomas, Thomas & Hafer added Jamie DeSisto to their Baltimore office, where she will head the Workerís Compensation Group.

Nicole R. Hewitt and Jessica L. Waicker have formed Hewitt & Waicker, LLC, focusing on estate planning, elder law and business and real estate/title transactions. Their office is located at 828 Dulaney Valley Road, Suite 4, Towson, Maryland 21204; (410) 825-2255.

Hammond Claxton P.C. has relocated to Rockville Metro Plaza I, 111 Rockville Pike, Suite 400, Rockville, Maryland 20850; (301) 917-6900. The firmís office at Chevy Chase Pavilion in Washington, D.C. will remain.

Saul Ewing LLP has added Randall M. Lutz to its Baltimore office as a partner in their Environmental Department.
previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: May 2008

back to top