Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : February 2009


The Maryland Conference of Circuit Judges, a policy advisory board to Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Robert M. Bell, elected Howard County Circuit Judge Diane O. Leasure and Baltimore City Circuit Judge Marcella A. Holland as chair and vice-chair, respectively. Judge Leasure is the first woman to head the conference and Judge Holland is the first African-American woman to serve the conference in a leadership role.

Business and Commercial Real Estate attorney Jack Garson has been appointed by Governor Martin O’ Malley to serve on the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority. Furthermore, Garson was named to the Maryland Comptroller’s Business Council and to the Montgomery County Economic Advisory Council.

Konstantina M. Katcheves
Lisa M. Ohrin
Saul Ewing, LLP, promoted Konstantina M. Katcheves from special counsel to partner in the Business Department of their Baltimore office.

Gregory V. Haledjian joined the Rockville office of Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., as an associate in the firm’s telecommunications practice.
Lisa M. Ohrin
Konstantina M. Katcheves

Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal, LLP, added Lisa M. Ohrin to its Washington, D.C., office as a partner in its Health Care practice.

Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd., elected Stuart R. Barr, a land use and zoning attorney, and William A. Goldberg, a commercial litigator, as shareholders with the firm.

Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, LLP, elevated Martha L. Hylton and Jessica B. Lang to partners.

Anne W. Coventry has become a shareholder at Pasternak & Fidis, P.C., where she is a member of the Estate Planning & Administration Practice Group.

Mary Beth Tung, Ph.D., an intellectual property and patent management attorney, joined Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny, LLC.
Jeffrey Rogyom
Jeffrey Rogyom

Maryland-based ADR Group, Creative Dispute Resolutions, added the following local attorneys as mediators and arbitrators: Daniel P. Dozier, Andrew L. Issacson, Ellen F. Kandell, Richard L. Lyon, Joseph J. Mulhern, N. Alfred Pasternak, Keith L. Seat and Elliot H. Shaller.

The Towson Junior Chamber elected a new president, Jeffrey Rogyom, a tax and estate planning attorney with the Shump Law Firm. He will also serve a second term as Legal Counsel for the Maryland Junior Chamber.

Matthew F. Gorra, a transactional lawyer in DLA Piper’s Corporate and Securities practice, has been promoted to partner.

Cornblatt, Bennett, Penhallegon & Roberson, P.A., opened a new office in The Campbell Building, 100 West Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 100, Towson, Maryland 21204; (410) 752-7600.

Stephan A. Timchula and Samantha Z. Smith have opened their firm, Timchula & Smith, P.A., based in Divorce/Custody, Criminal Defense, Workers’ Compensation and other legal arenas. It is located at 181 East Main Street, Westminster, Maryland 21157; (410) 871-1913.

George W. Liebmann has published Diplomacy Between the Wars – Five Diplomats and the Shaping of the Modern World.
previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: February 2009

back to top