Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : March 2009


The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers awarded Tom Hudson, a founding partner of Hudson Cook, LLP, the Senator William Proxmire Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to consumer financial services law.

Baltimore City State’s Attorney Mark Cohen won the Bar Association of Baltimore City’s 4th Annual Government and Public Interest Lawyer of the Year Award. Cohen was awarded the honor after passing away in January 2009.

Erek L. Barron has been selected as a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation upon the recommendation of the Maryland Fellows.

The Pikesville Greenspring Community Coalition, a non-profit organization that promotes 17 Northwest Baltimore County residential communities, elected John H. Denick as president.

Gary Norman has been accepted as a Fulbright Scholar, Senior Specialist. Norman is on a roster of scholars from which international organizations can draw expertise in his area of disability and health care law and policy.

Hodes, Pessin & Katz, P.A., promoted Lisa Y. Settles, an attorney in the firm’s Education, Labor and Employment and Litigation groups, to member.

Intellectual property law firm Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, PLLC, elected Gaby L. Longsworth, Ph. D., as its director.

Wayne J. King joined the Washington, D.C. office of Tully Rinckey, PLLC, where he will focus on federal acquisition law and federal taxation law.

John P. Edgar joined Ober Kaler and will be a member of the firm’s Estates & Trusts Group.

Maria E. Rodriguez Roopesh Vijayan

Roopesh Vijayan and the Vijayan Law Group, LLC, moved to 611 Park Avenue, Suite 100, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

Shapiro Sher Guinot & Sandler named Matthew A. S. Esworthy, David M. Hausner and John J. Leidig as partners of the firm.

Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., promoted Justin C. Eller, Donald E. English, Jr., Katherine D. Fones, Eric G. King, William M. Krulak, Jr., David R. Schaffer and Matthew T. Wagman to principals of the firm.

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, hired attorneys Jerome “Jerry” C. Schaefer, Steven P. Benson and Stephen M. Schaefer for its Nonprofits Organizations Group in Washington, D.C.

Ober Kaler elected Jonathan M. Holda, Carla N. Murphy and Donna J. Senft as principals of the firm.

Carl W. Buchheister, II, a former president of the Calvert County Bar Association, and Lynda J. Striegel have opened the law firm Striegel & Buchheister. The firm is located at 8906 Bay Avenue, P.O. Box 1144, North Beach, Maryland 20714; (301) 855-2246.

Steven Hale Levin and Stephanie Agli Gallagher, both former federal prosecutors, opened Levin & Gallagher, LLC. The firm will concentrate in white collar criminal defense and complex civil litigation. It is located at 250 W. Pratt Street, Suite 1300, Baltimore, Maryland 21201; (410) 685-4444.
previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: March 2009

back to top